Schengen / the Schengen area

The Schengen area comprises 29 European countries. There is normally no passport control on the borders between these countries. If you have a valid visa or residence permit in one of these countries, you can also visit the other Schengen countries.

The Schengen area consists of

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Crossing borders in the Schengen area

  • When you enter and leave the Schengen area, you must show your passport.
  • If you have been registered in the Schengen Information System (SIS), you will not be allowed to enter Schengen. You can be registered in SIS if you have been expelled from Norway or another Schengen country.

With a Visitor visa / Schengen visa, it is important to remember:

  • If you have a valid visitor visa in one of the Schengen countries, you can also visit the other Schengen countries.
  • The visa states how many times you can enter Schengen (one, two or more entries).
  • If your visa is only valid for one entry, you have to remember that if you leave Schengen, for example to go to the UK, Ireland, Russia or Türkiye, you cannot re-enter Schengen without being granted a new visa. It is therefore important that you state in your application for a visitor visa how many times you will be travelling in and out of Schengen during your visit. 

Did you find what you were looking for?